Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On Live” Concert Album To Be Released

It is one of the greatest albums of the 20th century, and the one voted by Pluginin readers as the second best soul music album of the 1970s. What’s Going On was Marvin Gaye’s declaration of emancipation at Motown – an album that Berry Gordy Jr. was hesitant to release – and it became a beautifully anthemic symbol for a generation.

Now, 47 years after it was recorded, Gaye’s legendary 1972 Washington DC concert, where he performed the full What’s Going On album, will be issued October 18 on Motown Records. The album will also include live performances of four other songs: “Wholly Holy,” “Right On,” “You” and “That’s The Way Love Is.”

As with the release earlier this year of Gaye’s “lost” album, You’re The Man, this live disc again demonstrates the near insatiable desire by fans for everything Marvin Gaye – an artist whose legend has only grown in the 35 years since his murder.

Motown also promises rich liner notes and photographs, to make the package complete.


What’s Going On Live Track List

1. Sixties Medley 13:22
That’s The Way Love Is / You / I Heard It Through The Grapevine / Little Darling (I Need You) / You’re All I Need To Get By / Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing / Your Precious Love / Pride And Joy / Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
2. Right On 7:33
3. Wholy Holy 3:32
4. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) 9:06
5. What’s Going On 5:42
6. What’s Happening Brother 2:54
7. Flyin’ High (In The Friendly Sky) 3:51
8. Save The Children 4:22
9. God Is Love 1:43
10. Stage Dialogue 2:34
11. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) (Reprise) 5:12
12. What’s Going On (Reprise) 4:12


2 thoughts on “Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On Live” Concert Album To Be Released

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s