Release Date: 2/16/2018

On February 16, Craft Recordings will release a deluxe edition of one of the most iconic and enduring records in jazz. Celebrating its 60th Anniversary in 2017, Way Out West, alongside Saxophone Colossus, cemented Sonny Rollins’ place as one of the top tenor saxophonists of all-time. This meticulously compiled package pays appropriate tribute to the importance of the landmark recording with an audiophile-quality pressing of the original album and a second LP of bonus material featuring rare and previously unreleased tracks from the legendary session. Both records are pressed at Quality Record Pressings on 180-gram vinyl. Grammy® Award-winning writer Neil Tesser contributes liner notes, which include excerpts from a recent interview he conducted with Rollins especially for this release. Rare photos by famed jazz photographer William Claxton round out the collection, which comes housed in a handsome hinged box.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Side A
  2. A1. I’m an Old Cowhand
  3. A2. Solitude
  4. A3. Come, Gone
  5. Side B
  6. B1. Wagon Wheels
  7. B2. There Is No Greater Love
  8. B3. Way Out West


Disc: 2

  1. Side A
  2. A1. Monologue: You Gotta Dig the Lyrics (previously unreleased)
  3. A2. I’m An Old Cowhand (alternate version)
  4. A3. Dialogue: Titling “Come, Gone” (previously unreleased)
  5. A4. Come Gone (alternate version)
  6. Side B
  7. B1. There Is No Greater Love (alternate version, previously unreleased)
  8. B2. Way Out West (take 1, previously unreleased)
  9. B3. Way Out West (alternate version)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s